A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman Joseph F. Bader John E. Mansfield R. Bruce Matthews

## DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000



June 21, 2005

The Honorable Samuel W. Bodman Secretary of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Bodman:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that Mr. Jeffrey Cravens of the Y-12 Site Office and Mr. Robert Knighten of the Idaho Operations Office have been jointly honored as the 2004 Department of Energy (DOE) Facility Representatives of the Year. The Board Members and staff join you and your site managers in recognizing the importance of the contributions made by the DOE Facility Representatives and add our congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Cravens and Mr. Knighten.

The workshop at which the awards were presented emphasized safety oversight and sharing of lessons learned, continuing a track record of excellence and demonstrating the continued positive impact on safety of the Facility Representative community. The Board encourages DOE to strengthen its commitment to and investment in the technical development of newly hired personnel destined for the Facility Representative Program, so that DOE maintains this cadre of technically proficient contributors to facility safety.

Sincerely,

A. J. Eggenberger Acting Chairman

c: Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.

Mr. Jeffrey Cravens

Mr. Robert Knighten