A.J. Eggenberger, Chairman Joseph F. Bader John E. Mansfield

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD



625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700 Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000

June 13, 2006

The Honorable Samuel W. Bodman Secretary of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Bodman:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that Mr. Robert "Dary" Newbry of the Idaho Operations Office has been honored as the 2005 Department of Energy (DOE) Facility Representative of the Year. The Board Members and staff join you and your site manager in recognizing the importance of the contributions made by the DOE Facility Representatives and add our congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Newbry.

The Board regards the level of technical competency and operational acumen of the personnel trained and qualified in the Facility Representative Program as a highly visible success for DOE. As Board Member Joseph Bader suggested in his address at this year's Facility Representative Workshop, DOE should consider the assignment of seasoned Facility Representatives to design and construction projects, especially for new nuclear facilities, as another means of ensuring that operational safety requirements are designed into the early phases of these projects.

Sincerely,

A. J. Eggenberger

Chairman

c: Mr. Robert E. Newbry Ms. Elizabeth D. Sellers

Mr. Mark E. Whitaker, Jr.