Peter S. Winokur, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson, Vice Chairman Joseph F. Bader Sean Sullivan

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



May 20, 2014

The Honorable Ernest J. Moniz Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Moniz:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that Mr. Robert D. Yates of the Savannah River Operations Office was recently honored as the 2013 Department of Energy (DOE) Facility Representative of the Year. Mr. Yates's hard work and effective oversight contributed significantly to the safety of operations at Savannah River Site's nuclear material operations facilities, making him well deserving of this personal honor. The Board and its staff join you and your site managers in acknowledging the important contributions made by all of the DOE facility representatives, and we extend our sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Yates.

The Board encourages DOE to continue supporting and strengthening the facility representative program to maintain its role as one of the most effective contributors to nuclear facility safety.

Sincerely,

Peter S. Winokur, Ph.D.

Chairman

c: Dr. David C. Moody, III Mr. Robert D. Yates

Mr. Joe Olencz