Peter S. Winokur, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson, Vice Chairman John E. Mansfield

Joseph F. Bader

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



June 11, 2012

The Honorable Steven Chu Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Chu:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that Mr. Bradley J. Davis of the Idaho Operations Office was recently honored as the 2011 Department of Energy (DOE) Facility Representative of the Year. Mr. Davis's hard work and exemplary service resulted in enhanced facility safety, making him well deserving of this personal honor. The Board and its staff join you and your site managers in acknowledging the importance of the contributions made by all of the DOE facility representatives, and we extend our sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Davis.

This year's workshop featured extensive sharing of experiences and lessons learned among the facility representatives. As in past years, it was outstanding and served to demonstrate the continued growth and maturity of the facility representative community and its strong program leadership. The Board encourages DOE to continue supporting and strengthening the facility representative program to maintain this program's role as one of the most effective contributors to nuclear facility safety.

Sincerely,

Peter S. Winokur, Ph.D.

Chairman

c: Mr. Richard B. Provencher Mr. Bradley J. Davis Mrs. Mari-Jo Campagnone