DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



June 4, 2024

The Honorable Jennifer M. Granholm Secretary of Energy US Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Granholm:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that the Department of Energy (DOE) has named Mr. Jason Clough of the Office of Nuclear Energy, Idaho Operations Office (NE-ID), as the 2023 Facility Representative of the Year.

In 2023, Mr. Clough routinely demonstrated his ability to engage on and provide superior technical input on difficult issues. He provided effective oversight of the safety of operations at the Advanced Test Reactor (ATR), including significant leadership in completing critical tasks during ATR restart activities. Mr. Clough used his strong nuclear safety background to evaluate seismic safety issues with the ATR's uninterruptable power supply and the primary coolant piping system. He also identified a case in which contract personnel were uncertain about implementation of safety controls for a cask movement that resulted in a "safety pause."

The Board also recognizes NE-ID leadership for supporting Mr. Clough and promoting nuclear safety at Idaho National Laboratory.

The Board joins DOE and its field office managers in acknowledging the important contributions made by the DOE facility representatives and extends its sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Clough. The Board invites Mr. Clough to meet with its executives during his next visit to the Washington, DC, area.

Sincerely, onne Jovce L. Connery Chair

c: Mr. Lance Lacroix, Manager, Idaho Operations Office Mr. Jason Clough, Facility Representative, Idaho Operations Office Mr. Joe Olencz, Director, Office of the Departmental Representative to the Board

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



June 4, 2024

The Honorable Jennifer M. Granholm Secretary of Energy US Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Granholm:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that the Department of Energy (DOE) has named Mr. Nino Travljanin of Savannah River Operations Office (DOE-SR) as the 2023 Safety System Oversight Engineer of the Year.

In 2023, Mr. Travljanin demonstrated superior leadership and technical safety oversight at the Salt Waste Processing Facility (SWPF), the Saltstone Production and Disposal Facility, and the Effluent Treatment Facility at the Savannah River Site. He completed three vital safety system assessments, ensured that the contractor declared a potential inadequacy in the safety analysis for a purge calculation error, and completed a safety evaluation report for a SWPF transfer that simplified operations. Mr. Travljanin's knowledge and skilled safety oversight have contributed significantly to the ongoing safety and operational readiness of the liquid waste mission at the Savannah River Site.

The Board also recognizes DOE-SR leadership for supporting Mr. Travljanin and promoting nuclear safety at the Savannah River Site.

The Board joins DOE and its field office managers in acknowledging the important contributions made by the DOE safety system oversight engineers and extends its sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Travljanin. The Board invites Mr. Travljanin to meet with its executives during his next visit to the Washington, DC, area.

Sincerely, Jape Z. Conner Joyce L. Connery Chair

c: Mr. Michael D. Budney, Manager, Savannah River Operations Office Mr. Nino Travljanin, Safety System Oversight Engineer, Savannah River Operations Office Mr. Joe Olencz, Director, Office of the Departmental Representative to the Board

AFFIRMATION OF BOARD VOTING RECORD

SUBJECT: 2023 FFR Award & SSO Award

Doc Control#: 2024-100-0019

The Board acted on the above document on 06/03/2024. The document was Approved.

 The votes were recorded as:

 APRVD
 DISAPRVD
 ABSTAIN
 NOT PARTICIPATING
 COMMENT
 DATE

 Joyce L. Connery
 Image: Colspan="5">Image: Colspan="5">06/03/2024

 Thomas Summers
 Image: Colspan="5">Image: Colspan="5">06/03/2024

This Record contains a summary of voting on this matter together with the individual vote sheets, views and comments of the Board Members.

Shelby Qualls Executive Secretary to the Board

Attachments:

- 1. Voting Summary
- 2. Board Member Vote Sheets

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Joyce L. Connery

SUBJECT: 2023 FFR Award & SSO Award

Doc Control#: 2024-100-0019

DATE: 06/03/2024

VOTE: Approved

COMMENTS:

None

Joyce L. Connery

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Thomas Summers

SUBJECT: 2023 FFR Award & SSO Award

Doc Control#: 2024-100-0019

DATE: 05/31/2024

VOTE: Approved

COMMENTS:

None

Thomas Summers