Bruce Hamilton, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson Joyce L. Connery

# DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



The Honorable Dan Brouillette Secretary of Energy US Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Brouillette:

The NNSA Chair of a nuclear explosive safety (NES) change evaluation prohibited our Resident Inspector from observing the deliberation phase of the evaluation at the Pantex Plant on April 13, 2020. In an email dated April 13, 2020, the NNSA Chair stated that the "decision was based on DOE O 140.1 compliance."

Consistent with our October 11, 2019, letter to Secretary Perry, the Board requires access to all phases of NNSA's NES evaluation process to execute its statutory safety oversight functions. Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 2286c(a), DOE is required to "provide the Board with prompt and unfettered access to such facilities, personnel, and information as the Board considers necessary." NNSA's denial reinforces the need to execute changes to DOE Order 140.1 consistent with the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2020, Pub. L. No. 116-92, 113 Stat. 1198 (2019) and to develop a bilateral memorandum to articulate modalities for interface between the Department and the Board as needed to execute the Board's statutory functions.

Yours truly,

Bruce Hamilton Chairman

c: Ms. Lisa Gordon-Hagerty

Mr. John Evans Mr. Joe Olencz

# AFFIRMATION OF BOARD VOTING RECORD

**SUBJECT:** RFBA by Board Member Connery to send the attached letter re Nuclear Explosive Safety Evaluation Access Denial to the Secretary of Energy

**Doc Control#:** 2020-100-0032

The Board acted on the above document on 04/16/2020. The document was Approved.

The votes were recorded as:

	APRVD	DISAPRVD	ABSTAIN	NOT PARTICIPATING	COMMENT	DATE
Bruce Hamilton	✓					04/15/2020
Jessie H. Roberson	<b>✓</b>					04/16/2020
Joyce L. Connery	✓					04/16/2020

This Record contains a summary of voting on this matter together with the individual vote sheets, views and comments of the Board Members.

Micholas Moore

Executive Secretary to the Board

#### Attachments:

- 1. Voting Summary
- 2. Board Member Vote Sheets

# **DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD**

# NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Bruce Hamilton

SUBJECT: RFBA by Board Member Connery to send the attached letter re Nuclear Explosive Safety

Evaluation Access Denial to the Secretary of Energy

**Doc Control#:** 2020-100-0032

**DATE:** 04/15/2020

**VOTE:** Approved

**COMMENTS:** 

None

Bruce Hamilton

# **DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD**

#### NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Jessie H. Roberson

**SUBJECT:** RFBA by Board Member Connery to send the attached letter re Nuclear Explosive Safety

Evaluation Access Denial to the Secretary of Energy

**Doc Control#:** 2020-100-0032

**DATE:** 04/16/2020

**VOTE:** Approved

Member voted by email.

**COMMENTS:** 

None

Tessie H. Roberson

# **DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD**

#### NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Joyce L. Connery

SUBJECT: RFBA by Board Member Connery to send the attached letter re Nuclear Explosive Safety

Evaluation Access Denial to the Secretary of Energy

**Doc Control#:** 2020-100-0032

**DATE:** 04/16/2020

**VOTE:** Approved

**COMMENTS:** 

None

Toyce L. Connery