

## Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

January 9, 2001

MEMORANDUM FOR

Distribution

FROM:

Steven V. Cary Stra Cary

SUBJECT:

Management Structure for actions under Implementation Plan for Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) Recommendation 2000-2, Configuration Management,

Vital Safety Systems.

As the Responsible Manager for the Implementation Plan for Board Recommendation 2000-2. I am responsible for organizing and coordinating the Department's actions in response to the Recommendation. The Implementation Plan outlines an Executive Team, of senior representatives from the field and headquarters program offices of Environmental Management, Defense Programs, and Science. This memorandum establishes the Executive Team and provides a list of contacts for issues dealing with the Implementation Plan. The Executive Team will meet either in person or via teleconference to review progress on the plan, decide issues that may arise, delegate and assign actions, and consider alterations in the plan if necessary.

Members of the Executive Team are Ralph Erickson, Mike Oldham, and Milt Johnson, the Chief Operating Officers of Defense Programs, Environmental Management, and Science respectively, and Bev Cook and Carol Sohn of Idaho and Oakland respectively. I will chair the Executive Team.

Jeff Kimball of Defense Programs, Bill Boyce of Environmental Management, and Earl Hughes of my office will handle day-to-day administration of the plan. Attached is a list of headquarters and field contacts for the implementation plan.

Attachment

## **DNFSB Recommendation 2000-2 Contacts**

Executive Team		
Steven V. Cary, Chair (EH)	202-586-6151	steven.cary@eh.doe.gov
Ralph Erickson (DP)	202-586-7349	ralph.erickson@dp.doe.gov
Milt Johnson (SC)	202-586-5440	milton.johnson@science.doe.gov
Mike Oldham (EM)	202-586-5050	michael.oldham@em.doe.gov
Bev Cook (ID)	208526-5665	cookba@id.doe.gov
Carol Sohn (Oak)	925-424-3308	carol.sohn@oak.doe.gov
Headquarters		
Neal Goldenberg (EH)	301-903-1236	neal.goldenberg@eh.doe.gov
Earl Hughes (EH)	202-586-0065	earl.hughes@eh.doe.gov
Jeff Kimball (DP)	301-903-6413	jeffrey.kimball@dp.doe.gov
Bill Boyce (EM)	202-586-8856	william.boyce@em.doe.gov
Van Nguyen (SC)	301-903-6800	van.nguyen@science.doe.gov
Mike Mikolanis (S-3.1)	202-586-3771	mike.mikolanis@hq.doe.gov
171110 171110 181110 (8 5.1)		······································
Albuquerque		
Pat Higgins	505-845-5194	phiggins@doeal.gov
Idaho		
Bob Boston	208-526-0356	bostonrd@id.doe.gov
DOO DOSION	200-320-0330	bostom d@id.doc.gov
Los Alamos		
Chris Steele	505-667-3418	csteele@doeal.gov
Nevada		
Laura Tomlinson	702-295-2588	tomlinson@nv.doe.gov
Oakland		
Carol Sohn	925-424-3308	carol.sohn@oak.doe.gov
Caror Somi	725-424-3300	caron somma oux. doc. gov
Oak Ridge		
Jorge Ferrer (EM)	865-576-1638	ferrerja@oro.doe.gov
Leonard Blankner (ORNL)	865-576-9597	blanknerlf@ornl.gov
Doug Dearolph (Y-12))	865-241-8398	dearolphdj@oro.doe.gov
01.		
Ohio	027 945 2127	yyand haat@ahia daa aay
Ward Best	937-865-3137	ward.best@ohio.doe.gov
Pantex		
Terry Zimmerman	806-477-4906	tzimmerm@pantex.doe.gov
•		
Richland	#00 <b>0</b> ## 1000	
Nancy Welliver	509-376-1890	nancy_c_welliver@rl.gov

Rocky Flats Bill Prymak	303-966-5979	william.prymak@rf.doe.gov
Sandia Al MacDougall	505-845-4280	amacdougall@doeal.gov
Savannah River David Whetsell (DP) Mosi Dayani (EM)	803-208-1503 803-726-7721	david.whetsell@srs.gov mosi.dayani@srs.gov
WIPP Chuan-Fu Wu	505-234-7552	wuc@wipp.carlsbad.nm.us

.

## Distribution List

Acting Assistant Secretary for Environmental Management Acting Deputy Administrator for Defense Programs Acting Director Office of Science General Gordon, Administrator National Nuclear Security Administration

Manager, Albuquerque Operations Office

Manager, Chicago Operations Office

Manager, Idaho Operations Office

Manager, Nevada Operations Office Manager

Manager, Oak Ridge Operations Office

Manager, Oakland Operations Office

Manager, Richland Operations Office

Manager, Savannah River Operations Office

Manager, Rocky Flats Field Office

**Executive Team** 

Steve V. Cary, Chair (EH)

Ralph Erickson (DP)

Milt Johnson (SC)

Mike Oldham (EM)

Bev Cook (ID)

Carol Sohn (OAK)