00-0002141

John T. Conway, Chairman
A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman
Joseph J. DiNunno
John E. Mansfield
Jessie Hill Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000



December 6, 2000

Dr. George F. Hurley Los Alamos National Laboratory PO Box 1663, Mailstop F606 Los Alamos, NM 87545

Dear Dr. Hurley:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) wishes to commend you for your extraordinary efforts during your 25 years at the Los Alamos National Laboratory, particularly the last 7 years in your position as the Program Manager for Nuclear Surety Technology. Your efforts to guide the laboratory and the Department of Energy to a new nuclear safety paradigm have been in large part responsible for the progress achieved to date. Your leadership in this arena and your willingness to devote tremendous amounts of time and energy to this cause have helped build the foundation upon which the Department of Energy can ultimately assure that its enduring stockpile remains safe.

Upon the occasion of your retirement from the Los Alamos National Laboratory, the Board expresses its gratitude for your significant contribution to safety in the defense nuclear complex. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Sincerely,

John T. Conway

Chairman

c: General John A. Gordon Mr. Richard Glass Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.