John T. Conway, Chairman

A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman

John E. Mansfield

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD



R. Bruce Matthews

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000

June 24, 2003

Mr. Jeffrey L. Roberson 6585 Nyasa Bend New Market, Maryland 21774

Dear Mr. Roberson:

Upon the occasion of your departure from the Office of Defense Programs, the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) commends you on your superb performance in improving the ability of the Department of Energy (DOE) to perform its mission safely.

You have demonstrated extraordinary leadership in the conduct of readiness reviews and in the development of DOE's readiness review requirements and standards. Your efforts to train and mentor federal and contractor personnel across the defense nuclear complex in the readiness process have had a significant impact on improving performance in this area.

The mission of the Board is to provide technical safety oversight of DOE's defense nuclear facilities. Your participation in the review and confirmation of the readiness of nuclear activities in these facilities has contributed significantly to safe operations. Your performance of a similar role in verifying the implementation of Integrated Safety Management has also been a valuable contributor to safe operations.

The Board thanks you for your hard work and dedication, which have resulted in improved safety in the defense nuclear complex. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Sincerely,

John T. Conway

Chairman

c: The Honorable Everet H. Beckner Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.