The Honorable James Richard Perry Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Perry:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board is pleased to recognize that Ms. Christy Drewry of the National Nuclear Security Administration Production Office was recently honored as the recipient of the 2017 Department of Energy Annual Safety System Oversight Award.

Ms. Drewry, as the NPO Enterprise SSO Program Manager, demonstrated outstanding leadership by implementing an integrated SSO program at the Pantex Plant and Y-12 National Security Complex. Her efforts also have had a positive impact on the contractor's cognizant system engineering program. These and other accomplishments make Ms. Drewry well deserving of this professional honor.

We join you and your field office managers in acknowledging the importance of the contributions made by DOE's SSO engineers and extend our sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Ms. Drewry.

Yours truly,

Bruce Hamilton Acting Chairman

c: Mr. Geoffrey Beausoleil Ms. Christy Drewry Mr. Joe Olencz

#### AFFIRMATION OF BOARD VOTING RECORD

**SUBJECT: 2017 SSO Award Winner Letter** 

Doc Control#2018-100-042

The Board, with Board Member(s) Jessie H. Roberson, Daniel J. Santos, Joyce L. Connery *approving*, Board Member(s) Bruce Hamilton *disapproving*, Board Member(s) none *abstaining*, and Board Member(s) none *not participating*, has voted to approve the above document on June 19, 2018.

The votes were recorded as:

	APRVD	DISAPRVD	ABSTAIN	NOT PARTICIPATING*	COMMENT	DATE
Bruce Hamilton		$\boxtimes$			$\boxtimes$	06/19/18
Jessie H. Roberson	$\boxtimes$					06/19/18
Daniel J. Santos	$\boxtimes$					06/19/18
Joyce L. Connery	$\boxtimes$					06/19/18

<sup>\*</sup>Reason for Not Participating:

This Record contains a summary of voting on this matter together with the individual vote sheets, views and comments of the Board Members.

Executive Secretary to the Board

#### Attachments:

- 1. Voting Summary
- 2. Board Member Vote Sheets

cc: Board Members

**OGC** 

**OGM Records Officer** 

OTD

FROM:	Bruce Hamilt	con		
<b>SUBJECT:</b>	2017 SSO Aw	ard Winner Letter		
Doc Control#	2018-100-042			
Approved		Disapproved_X_	Abstain	
Recusal - No	t Participating			
COMMENTS	S: Below	X_ Attached	None	
This is congenial correspondence, and while I have no first-hand knowledge of the award winner or of her contributions, I am confident in the Secretary of Energy's assessment that she is deserving of the honor.				
That notwithstanding, it is unfitting for the Board, which is charged with providing independent safety oversight, to endorse or recognize the performance of individuals within the Department of Energy. Doing so would contribute to greater familiarity and informality with Departmental actors, thus eroding, albeit marginally in this case, the Board's independence and objectivity, particularly in the eyes of the public.				
I therefore disa	approve.		-	

Bruce Hamilton

19 JUNE 2018 Date

pproved	Disapproved	Abstain_
Recusal – Not Par	ticipating	(4)
COMMENTS:	Below Attached	None

**FROM:** 

Jessie Roberson

**SUBJECT: 2017 SSO Award Winner Letter** 

Doc Control#2018-100-042

Jessie Roberson

Date/

SUBJECT:	2017 SSO Awa	ard Winner Lette	er	
Doc Control#	<del>‡</del> 2018-100-042			
Approved $\times$	,	Disapproved	_	Abstain
Recusal – No	t Participating_			
COMMENTS	S: Below	Attached	None	X

FROM:

Daniel J. Santos

Daniel J. Santos

Date

FROM:	Joyce L. Conner	ry		
SUBJECT:	2017 SSO Awar	d Winner Letter		
Doc Control	<b>#2018-100-042</b>			
			43.4.	
Approved	XD	isapproved	Abstain	
Recusal – No	t Participating	NO.		
COMMENT	S: Below	Attached	None_X_	
		4	smm Blhm	J For
		$\overline{\mathbf{J}_{0}}$	oyce L. Connery	
		<del>-</del>	June 19, 2018	
		D	ate	

Member voted by e-mail dated June 19, 2018