ARCHIVE: Doc#2017-100-075, 2016 DOE Facility Representative of the Year Recognition

Sean Sullivan, Chairman Bruce Hamilton, Vice Chairman Jessie H. Roberson Daniel J. Santos Joyce L. Connery

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



The Honorable James Richard Perry Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Perry:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board is pleased to recognize that Mr. Nicholas A. Balsmeier of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Idaho Operations Office was named 2016 DOE Facility Representative of the Year at the recent Nuclear and Facility Safety Programs Workshop. Mr. Balsmeier's high quality, professional, and effective oversight contributed significantly to operational safety at the Idaho site's Advanced Mixed Waste Treatment Project and Radioactive Waste Management Complex, a pair of Hazard Category 2 nuclear facilities. The challenges in overseeing these high-hazard facilities and operations make him well deserving of this professional honor. We join you in acknowledging the important contributions made by all DOE facility representatives, and extend our sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Balsmeier.

Sincerely,

Sean Sullivan Chairman

c: Mr. John P. Zimmerman Mr. Nicholas A. Balsmeier Mr. Joe Olencz

AFFIRMATION OF BOARD VOTING RECORD

SUBJECT: 2016 DOE Facility Representative of the Year Recognition

Doc Control#2017-100-075

The Board, with Board Member(s) Sean Sullivan, Jessie H. Roberson, Daniel J. Santos, Joyce L. Connery *approving*, Board Member(s) Bruce Hamilton *disapproving*, Board Member(s) none *abstaining*, and Board Member(s) none *not participating*, have voted to approve the above document on September 13, 2017.

The votes were recorded as:

	APRVD	DISAPRVD	ABSTAIN	NOT PARTICIPATING*	COMMENT	DATE
Sean Sullivan	\boxtimes					09/12/17
Bruce Hamilton		\boxtimes				09/13/17
Jessie H. Roberson	\boxtimes					09/12/17
Daniel J. Santos	\boxtimes					09/12/17
Joyce L. Connery	\boxtimes					09/12/17

^{*}Reason for Not Participating:

This Record contains a summary of voting on this matter together with the individual vote sheets, views and comments of the Board Members.

Assistant Executive Secretary to the Board

Attachments:

- 1. Voting Summary
- 2. Board Member Vote Sheets

cc: Board Members

OGC

OGM Records Officer

OTD

2016 DOE Facility Representative of the Year Recognition

Doc Control#2017	-100-075			
Approved_	Dis	sapproved		Abstain
Recusal – Not Par	ticipating	1 a		
COMMENTS:	Relow	Attached	None	Ø

Sean Sullivan

FROM:

SUBJECT:

Sean Sulliyan

FROM:	Bruce Hamilton			¥
SUBJECT:	2016 DOE Facility	Representative of t	he Year Recogn	ition
Doc Control#	2017-100-075			
		14		©.
Approved	Disa	approved_X_	Abst	ain
Recusal – No	t Participating	_		
COMMENT	S: Below_X_	Attached	None	
				edge of the recipient or or that he is deserving of
safety oversig of Energy. Do actors, thus er	ht, to endorse or recoing so would contri	ognize the performan bute to greater famili ally in this case, the l	ce of individuals arity and informa	n providing independent within the Department ality with Departmental ence and objectivity,
I therefore dis	approve.			
		Br	Zuut uce Hamilton	Jamil

SUBJECT:	2016 DOE Facility Representative of t	he Year Recognition
Doc Control#	2 2017-100-075	
Approved_	Disapproved	Abstain
Recusal - No	t Participating	
	3	<u></u>
COMMENTS	S: Below Attached	None

FROM:

Jessie H. Roberson

Jessie H. Roberson

FROM:	Daniel J. Santos			
SUBJECT:	2016 DOE Facility Representative of the Year Recognition			
Doc Control#	2017-100-075			
Approved	Disapproved	Abstain		
Recusal - Not	Participating			
× ,	**			
COMMENTS	: Below Attached	None_X		

Daniel J. Santos

SUBJECT:	2016 DOE Fac	cility Representative o	f the Year Recognition
Doc Control	#2017-100-075		
		× .	
Approved		Disapproved	Abstain
Recusal – No	ot Participating_		
COMMENT	S: Below	Attached	None

FROM:

Joyce L. Connery

Joyce L. Connery